Skip to Main Content

The 2011 The Collingwood Street Trolley Derby: 2002 ~ 2011: Results

The Spirit of the Derby Cup Formerly The Keith Roper Cup: awarded by the OBHC Trolley Derby

Re-presented in 2009 by Colleen and Trevor Carston:
To be awarded annually to a competitor that has The Spirit of the Derby

The Spirit of the Derby Cup
George and Oscar Perks: The brothers, racing trolley number 8 - Go Force - in both the Nippers and the Sprinters, were chosen because of their enthusiasm and spirit in helping each other in building and racing their trolley.
The BlueBerryIT Backyard Brilliance Awards
trolleys built for less than $200
Nico Hindmarsh and Dan Merry in Firebird
2011 Kids' Design Challenge
  • Nippers - George Thompson
  • Zoomers - Olivia Smith
  • Sprinters -  
  • Rockets - Oscar Perks
Style Meister Award
awarded to the most creatively and stylish new trolley
Matt Cook in Half Evil 333
Resene Monarch of the Hill
Tim Bayley in Redrak Racer III
Winning speed: 66km/h
Please note: for reasons of safety, racing was suspended after the 2nd run when a light drizzle resulted in four trolleys crashing (quite spectacularly!) in the subsequent five runs

SBS Bank Zoomers

1st 95 34.218 s Morgan Dacombe Lightning Racer 2
2nd 74 34.984 s Ronan Stilwell Speed Demon
3rd 51 35.984 s Jason Nicholas Mercedes W196
4th 80 37.062 s Charlie and Harry Perkins McDonalds
5th 61 37.859 s Samantha, Baydon, Rylee and Cameron Mean Machine
6th 3 38.187 s Rebecca Fleet 156 Ferrari

McDonald's Sprinters

1st 35 32.421 s Jared Dacombe Spirit of Burt Munro
2nd 33 32.562 s Matty Cook Half Evil 333
3rd 4 34.328 s Liam King-Turner Redrak Racer II
4th 55 34.500 s Ishmael Burrough Runner
5th 49 35.203 s Keith Ingham Mactym
6th 37 36.968 s Blair Clough Southern Express

Baywick's Rockets

1st 17 31.250 s Rowan Mallory Turner Safari Spitfire Mk II
2nd 9 31.531 s Ernie Little Redrak Racer III
3rd 5 31.875 s John Bennett Hurtle the Turtle
4th 77 32.656 s Rory East Team Nelson Cadet Unit: Stanton Red Lightning
5th 69 34.171 s Peter Jones Igor
6th 72 35.734 s Zak White Phat 2

Deep Blue Shoestring Challenge

1st 93 34.328 s Nelson Int School Team N.I.S.2
2nd 36 34.781 s Shevy Oakly MCR
3rd 40 35.234 s Oliver Perks OJ special
4th 56 36.140 s Luke Sharp or Nathan Sharp All Muscle
5th 81 37.968 s Nico Hindmarsh and Dan Merry The Firebird